gaian-tarot-deck-interview-blog-cover-pic

Gaian Tarot Deck Interview

The Gaian Tarot has had my eye for almost a year now and for good reason. She is a breath of fresh air! I especially love how the artist included people of all colors, shapes, ages, and sizes in this deck, as well as the elements of nature and the beautiful creatures of our planet. The images are stunning and it feels like a ‘welcome home old friend’ kind of deck. Relaxed, inspired, down to earth, comforting, and loving – just as any deck with ‘Gaia’ in the name should be!

I decided immediately upon her unboxing, that it was important to do a deck interview with her, and right away too. I don’t always get this feeling from decks, however I knew our relationship would be different. She had something very important to share with me. The questions in this deck interview tarot spread were either created by TABI (Tarot Association of the British Isles) or someone on Aeclectic Tarot, I’m not sure which. I however, found this spread through the lovely tarotista Beth Maiden of Little Red Tarot

gaian-tarot-deck-interview-cards

Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert (Schiffer Publishing, 2016)

Tell me about yourself. What is your most important characteristic?

Elder of Earth – She is the ultimate provider. Crafty and kind. Resourceful and knowledgeable. Fruitful, abundant, and well loved. Seasoned and wise. Understanding and sympathetic. Responsible. She is connected to all of time, to the weaving of fate, for there is no beginning and no end to her wisdom.

What are your strengths as a deck?

Elder of Air – She is a fantastic communicator! Her words a melodious symphony. Her voice is like the whisper of the wind and clear as a bell. She communicates in such a grounded and reachable way, so that all who encounter her can comprehend her message. A language of divine wisdom, that we as humans, creatures who live on this planet, inherently understand. When you hear what she has to stay, you will stop and listen.

What are your limits as a deck?

The Moon – This deck is not what you would call intuitive. She is earthy. Her concepts are very tangible and real. She will not give you all of the answers as she realizes the importance of facing the fear of the unknown. The importance of being present in the moment and living your journey. Part of the wisdom she shares is the paramount power contained in the learning of lessons.

What are you here to teach me?

Three of Fire – Freedom of expression. To allow my soul to dance in warmth and light. She is here to get me moving to the beat of the Universe again! To ignite my passion and celebrate life. To be strong in my creativity and to know that it is safe to do so. I also feel that she is here to remind me of the importance of working with my lower 3 chakras (Root, Sacral, & Solar Plexus) and the role they play in my sense of joy and independence. She wants me to remember the full expression of who I am. To acknowledge the earth plane and rejoice with her. Thanks Gaian Tarot  🙂

How can I best learn and collaborate with you?

Explorer of Fire – Dare and do. All I need to do is to pick her up and give her a shuffle. She is ready, waiting, and willing to help! She invites me to have confidence and to act on the knowledge she gives me – especially seeing as she has been around a time or two and knows the ropes (remember the Elder of Earth). She does not give empty guidance. Don’t ask if I am not willing to listen. Create with her and do not be afraid to share the results!

What is the potential outcome of our working relationship?

The Seeker – Discovery. Adventure. Wonderment and freedom. Play and new beginnings. The excavation of the truth of my soul. She will bring a refreshed and soul nurturing energy to my readings. We can create anything we wish together. The story has yet to be written, but she is excited for the journey of our spiritual quest together.

As I’m writing this, having completed this interview, the lyrics of Natasha Beddingfield’s song “Unwritten” comes to mind: “Feel the rain on your skin. No one else can feel it for you. Only you can let it in. No one else, no one else, can speak the words on your lips…Today is where your book begins. The rest is still unwritten.”

If you’d like to learn more about the creator behind this work of art, please check out the author’s website here

Do you have this gem of a deck? If so, what are your thoughts? What has the Gaian Tarot taught you thus far in your journey together?

Blessings,

xo Ariel

Leave a Reply

